Greetings to the many thousands of readers from across Canada and the United States, as well as countries including the United Kingdom, Germany, France, India, Australia, Japan, Mexico, Romania and the Netherlands.

Total Pageviews

Sunday, May 24, 2015

TIFF awards the best short films created by teens

TORONTO — The 2015 TIFF Next Wave Jump Cuts Young Filmmakers Showcase winners were announced at a ceremony held at TIFF Bell Lightbox. Now in its 13th year, the high-profile competition screens the top short films made by Ontario students in grades 9 to 12. This year's showcase featured 16 short films from 25 young filmmakers.

The films were judged in the categories of animation, fiction, experimental and documentary. This year’s Jump Cuts jury included experimental filmmaker Christine Lucy Latimer, whose work has been featured in over 150 film festivals, director Andrew Cividino (The Sleeping Giant), writer-actor Anna Hopkins (SyFy's Defiance, Barney's Version, Girl Couch) and documentary filmmaker Andrew Moir (Uprooted, Just As I Remember).

With 131 submissions this year from across the province, this annual competition engages and supports young emerging filmmakers by helping them to present their vision on the big screen.

“After watching the entries, it's clear that these young filmmakers demonstrate curiosity, skill and creativity,” said jury member Anna Hopkins. “I feel privileged to be a part of a program that is not only encouraging young Canadian talent to express themselves through the medium of film, but is providing them with a venue to share their work.”

The winners for the 2015 TIFF Next Wave Jump Cuts Young Filmmakers Showcase are:

The Gertrude Löwengren Award for Best Animation Film
Creation 101, Raine Bracken
God, as a young student, is asked to create a planet in his creations class. Things take a turn for the worse when he adds humans to the mix.

The Gertrude Löwengren Award for Best Fiction Film
KASM, Aidan Tanner, Stefan V
A routine jog turns into something much more unusual.

The Gertrude Löwengren Award for Best Experimental Film
Overdue, Dylan Vogel
A metafilm on the experience of failing to finish a film, offering a critique of ideas of personal achievement and a look into the stories we tell ourselves.

The Gertrude Löwengren Award for Best Documentary Film
“How Do You Pronounce Pho?”, Carol Nguyen
A culinary exploration of cultural identity.

The Gertrude Löwengren Awards are generously supported by Garrett Herman.

Social Media:

About TIFF
TIFF is a charitable cultural organization whose mission is to transform the way people see the world through film. An international leader in film culture, TIFF projects include the annual Toronto International Film Festival in September; TIFF Bell Lightbox, which features five cinemas, major exhibitions, and learning and entertainment facilities; and innovative national distribution program Film Circuit. The organization generates an annual economic impact of $189 million CAD. TIFF Bell Lightbox is generously supported by contributors including Founding Sponsor Bell, the Province of Ontario, the Government of Canada, the City of Toronto, the Reitman family (Ivan Reitman, Agi Mandel and Susan Michaels), The Daniels Corporation and RBC. For more information, visit tiff.net.

TIFF is generously supported by Lead Sponsor Bell, Major Sponsors RBC, L'Oréal Paris, and Visa, and Major Supporters the Government of Canada, the Government of Ontario, and the City of Toronto.

TIFF Next Wave Film Festival is supported by Major Supporters the City of Toronto and the Ontario Arts Council.

TIFF Bell Lightbox
Reitman Square, 350 King Street West
Toronto, ON, M5V 3X5, Canada

No comments:

Post a Comment